Secure End-to-End data integration with Ponton X/P and Ponton X/D for international business communities
Home Our Focus Commodity Trading
Commodity Trading

Since 2005, more than 60 energy and commoditiy traders in Europe and the US have become clients of EFETnet, which is enabled by Ponton technology such as Ponton X/P and the EFET Box. Among other processes, this enables the automatic matching of trade confirmations. Integration with the trading systems of participating companies can be done via Ponton X/D.

In OTC Trading of commodities (OTC: Over The Counter, as opposed to executing a deal on an exchange) both parties to a deal confirm the deal details to their respective counterparty in order to avoid the risk of misunderstandings or errors. This process of "Confirmation Matching" is traditionally performed via fax at each commodity traders’ back office. Using the EFET Box, this process was completely automated.  On each trading day, tens of thousands of transactions are confirmed automatically via electronic Confirmation Matching (eCM). The exchange of trade confirmation is done on a peer-to-peer basis, i.e. directly between the counterparties without a middleman.

Due to new regulatory requirements the eCM process will be centralized during 2011, while document formats and back-end interfaces at EFETnet clients remain the same. Ponton has developed the Central Matching System (CMS). In the long term, this system will not only carry the eCM process, but will also serve as a starting point for the OTC clearing and trade reporting to repositories that are operated by the regulator.

The international XML document standard CpML (Commodity products Markup Language) is used for post-deal processes. This standard is based on EFET eCM4.0 formats.

Ponton serves as the central provider of support, maintenance, consulting, integration and development projects for all EFETnet clients.

SMSS - Spot Market Settlement System

Ponton has developed the central transaction system "SMSS" (Spot Market Settlement System) for the Clearing House ECC (European Commodity Clearing). This systems delivers a variety of processes for the trading of commodities at the EEX and other exchanges, including financial and physical settlement.

Unternehmensübergreifende Datenintegration mit End-to-End Security durch Ponton X/P und Ponton X/D
Startseite Schwerpunkte Rohstoffhandel
Rohstoffhandel

Seit dem Jahr 2005 haben sich über 80 europäische und nordamerikanische Energiehändler im Rahmen des EFETnet-Projekts entschlossen, die auf Ponton X/P beruhende EFET Box für den effizienten Abgleich von Handelsbestätigungen über das Internet einzusetzen. Die Integration mit den Handelssystemen der beteiligten Banken, Energieunternehmen und Mineralöluntenrehmen erfolgt durch Ponton X/D.

Im OTC-Segement des Handels von Rohstoffen ist es wichtig, dass sich beide Seiten (Kontrahenten) die Details des Geschäfts gegenseitig bestätigen, um das Risiko von Missverständnissen oder Eingabefehlern zu vermeiden. Dieser Prozess des Confirmation Matching wird traditionell bei Rohstoffhändlern per Fax durchgeführt. Durch die Mitwirkung von Ponton wurde dieser Prozess vollständig automatisiert, so dass weltweit täglich zehntausende Geschäfte automatisch bestätigt werden ("electronic Confirmation Matching" bzw. eCM).  Der Austausch von Handelsbestätigungenerfolgt dabei "Peer-to-Peer", d.h., ohne Umweg direkt zwischen den Teilnehmern.

Aufgrund neuer regulatorischer Anforderungen erfolgt im Jahr 2011 eine Zentralisierung des eCM-Prozesses, wobeil Dokumentenformate und Back-End-Schnittstellen unverändert bleiben. Ponton erntwickelt hierzu das CMS (Central Matching System). Diese Plattform führt langfristig nicht mehr nur den eCM-Prozess durch, sondern dient auch als Ausgangspunkt für das OTC-Clearing sowie die Meldung an Trade Repositories, die vom Regulator betrieben werden.

Im Rahmen des EFETnet-Projekts kommt der internationale CpML Dokumentenstandard zum Einsatz (Commodity products Markup Language), der auf dem EFET eCM 4.0 STandard basiert.

Ponton steht dabei allen EFETnet-Teilnehmer für Support, Beratung, Integrations- und Entwicklungsprojekte zur Verfügung.

 

SMSS - Spot Market Settlement System

Für die Clearingstelle ECC (European Commodity Clearing) der deutschen Energiebörse EEX hat Ponton das zentrale Transaktionssystem “SMSS” (Spot Market Settlement System) entwickelt, mit dem täglich eine Vielzahl börslicher Handelsgeschäfte finanziell und physisch abgewickelt werden.